helpline numbers



Each year, the Central Government recognizes the distinguished services of the Fire Services, Home Guards and Civil Defence personnel by conferring awards to outstanding personnel.

There are total 08 types of medal for:

Fire Service

Home Guards & Civil Defence

These awards were instituted in 1974 and 1975 through Presidential notifications. These medals are awarded twice every year, i.e. on the Republic Day and Independence Day.


Medal typeCriteria
President Gallantry Medal For highest order of valour, gallantry/bravery
Gallantry Medal For Ordinary act of gallantry
Distinguished Service Medal For distinguished record of service marked by exceptional ability and merit and is generally considered after five years of the award/receipt of meritorious service medals
Meritorious Service Medals For valuable service characterized by devotion to duty, including prolonged unbroken service over 10 to 15 years for regular paid staff and 8 years for volunteers of Civil Defence & Home Guards Organization.


Number of medals :

There is no limit on the number of gallantry medals that can be given during the year. The number of service medals that can be given during the year are as under :-

Type of service medalsHome Guard and Civil DefenceFire Services
  Republic Day ( 26th January) Independence Day ( 15th August) Total Republic Day ( 26th January) Independence Day ( 15th August) Total
25 25 50 13 12 25
50 50 100 50 50 100
75 75 150 63 62 125


Process of Selection:

The recommendations received from the States/UTs/Ministries/Departments are first scrutinized/examined by the Screening Committee under the Chairmanship of the Director General (Fire Service, Civil Defence and Home Guards), Ministry of Home Affairs. In case the number of recommendations received from States/UTs/Central Ministries are more than the total number who can be awarded the medal, then the number of awards given to particular States/UTs/Central Ministries are worked out on the basis of (a) Size of the State (b) Number of Fire Service Personnel (c) Distribution of number of award on pro-rata basis (d) Age, length of service, number of awards/commendation certificate, category, gender ACR grading and overall performance of the candidate. (e) Awards to be equitably distributed amongst various ranks in the officers and staff.

Thereafter, short listed recommendations of the Screening Committee are placed before the Approving Committee, chaired by Secretary/Additional Secretary in charge of Disaster Management in the Ministry of Home Affairs for approval of the President of India through the appropriate channel.

During 2016, 235 medals were awarded to Fire Service, Home Guards & Civil Defence Personnel. In the past five years from 2012-2017, more than 1000 Fire Service, Home Guards and Civil Defence personnel have been awarded for their meritorious services for the nation.

The year-wise details of Medals are as given below: